MelNet Leadership

MelNet's 2024/25 Executive Committee

Mr Gary Duncan, Executive Committee Co-Chair
Gary is a plastic surgeon with a special interest in skin cancer, including melanoma.

Dr Chris Boberg, Executive Committee Co-Chair
Chris is a General Practitioner with a sub-specialist interest in early detection and management of skin cancer.

Mr Richard Martin
Richard is a cutaneous surgical oncologist based in Auckland who trained at the Sydney Melanoma Unit.

Dr Richard Massey
Richard is a qualified pathologist and has been Director of Pathology Associates for the past 12 years. 

Dr Jody Jordan
Jody is a medical oncologist at the Hawke's Bay District Health Board. 

Professor Amanda Oakley
Amanda is a dermatologist who currently works at Waikato District Health Board. She has been recognised nationally and internationally for her contribution to the field of dermatology.

Dr Annie Wong
Annie is a New Zealand-trained consultant medical oncologist at Wellington Blood & Cancer Centre. Her oncological sub-specialities include melanoma, head and neck cancer, as well as genitourinary cancers. 

Dr Bronwen McNoe
Bronwen is a senior research fellow and co-director of the Social and Behavioural Research Unit at the University of Otago with responsibility for the primary prevention of skin cancer.

Dr Susan Seifried
Susan is a general and endoscopic surgeon based in Nelson Marlborough, where is Head of Department of General and Vascular Surgery. She is also the current Chair of the National Melanoma Working Group responsible for maintaining the Quality Statements to Guide Melanoma Diagnosis and Treatment in New Zealand. 

Abbie Cameron
Abbie is an experienced senior nurse with a strong background in skin cancer. She has completed advanced training in dermoscopy as well as a postgraduate certificate in nursing leadership and management. She is currently working as a dermoscopist for HealthBox. 

Mr Dan Butler
Dan is a specialist plastic and reconstructive surgeon at Tauranga Hospital, with a subspecialty interest in melanoma and head and neck cancer. 

Dr Keith Monnington
Keith is a semi-retired GP with over 50 years experience. Currently, he is the triage and grading clinician for both the Eastern and Western Bay of Plenty skin lesion services, coordinator of online skin cancer GP peer groups, and a presenter, tutor and assessor for the Skin Cancer College of Australasia. 

Dr Sam Mayhew
Sam is a specialist GP, Sports Doctor, Skin Cancer Doctor at Skin Institute, and a founding member of NZ Skin Cancer Doctors Society. 

MelNet's Operational Team

Katrina Patterson
Chief Executive Officer

Marion Peat
Events and Communications Coordinator